top of page

Meet The Team

Dr. Leslie Lai

Chairman of boards of directors


Dr Leslie Lai was Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne and Head of Department of Clinical Biochemistry at the Freeman Group of Hospitals NHS Trust, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom from October 1990 till December 1996. He returned to Malaysia at the end of 1996 to take up the position of Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine as well as Deputy Dean of Academic Affairs at Universiti Putra Malaysia. In August 2001, he moved to the International Medical University in Kuala Lumpur to take up the newly established post of Dean of the Postgraduate Medical School, a position he held till February 2004.


Dr Leslie Lai currently practices at Gleneagles Hospital in Kuala Lumpur where he is a Consultant in Metabolic Medicine and the Laboratory Director of Pantai Premier Pathology, Gleneagles Branch. He was President of the Asia-Pacific Federation for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine from 2010 till 2016 and is Chair of the International Federation for Clinical Chemistry Education and Management Division Executive Committee from 2015 till 2020. Dr Leslie Lai is Associate Editor of the Malaysian Journal of Pathology and was Associate Editor of Clinical Biochemistry from 2008 till 2018. He is an Editorial Board member of 6 other scientific journals and has published widely in international peer-reviewed scientific journals. He is the Chair of the MACB Chronic Kidney Disease Task Force.

Dr. Menaka Hariharan






Dr. Menaka Is Former Head and Professor of Department of Pathology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya. She was trained in cryopreservation of bone marrow and peripheral blood stem cells at theFred Hutchinson Cancer Centre in Seattle, USA, which is a world pioneer centre in stem cell transplants and research.

​She was also a member of the Pioneer Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT) Unit in University of Malaya. In the hospital, she was responsible for the planning and organization of the new Haematology Unit for University Hospital as part of an expansion and relocation of the present Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory.


Dr Menaka is also the Adjunct Professor at the prestigious John Aldwyn Gifted University, based in French Colony, Victoria, Mahe, Seychelles. Visiting Consultant Haematopathologist at Assunta Hospital, Quantum Diagnostics Laboratory. She has been active in stem cell field and research for more than 30 years.

prof yap1.jpg
Professor Dr Yap Sook Fan


MPath(UM), FRCPath(UK), FASc

Professor Dr. Yap Sook Fan has over 29 years of teaching experience starting from 1981 in the Faculty of Medicine, UM. She pioneered in many areas – development of the in-house molecular-based assays for the detection of hepatitis B (HBV-DNA) and hepatitis C (HCV RNA) viral genomes, an in-vitro amplification assay for the rapid detection of mycobacterium tuberculosis in clinical specimens, genotyping facilities for hepatitis B and hepatitis C (research application), molecular based methods for genotyping of M Tuberculosis for epidemiological studies, and rapid detection of antibiotic resistance genes (rpoB) in M tuberculosis.


In clinical services, she initiated a follow-up service for chronic HBV carriers, provided HBV-DNA and HCV-RNA services,  developed prenatal diagnostic services for thalassaemia, established diagnostic facilities for the detection of mutations of Duchenne's muscular dystrophy, developed high resolution cytogenetics and molecular cytogenetics, and a biochemical genetics service.

Being an active researcher in basic sciences and pathology, she has authored or co-authored over 100 publications in both national and international peer-reviewed journals and books, with many research grants.

Emeritus Prof. Dr.
Cheong Soon Keng


Advisory chairman

MBBS (Malaya), MRCP (UK), DCP (London), FRCP (Glasg),FRCP (Edin), FRCPA (Australia), FAMM (Malaysia),FAM (Singapore), FFScRCPA (Australia) ,FASc (Malaysia)

• Professor of Medicine Chair, UTAR
• Dean of Faculty Medicine and Health Science, UTAR, Malaysia
• Emeritus Professor, National University of Malaysia
• Visiting Consultant Haematologist, UKM Medical Centre, Kuala Lumpur
• Vice-President of the National Cancer Council (MAKNA)
• President, College of Pathologists, Academy of Medicine, Malaysia

Prof Cheong_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Our Team

The following constitute the Board of Trustees of the company:


Professor Datuk Dr Looi Lai Meng

Professor Dr Pathmanathan Rajadurai

Professor Dr Mak Joon Wah

Professor Dr Parasakthi Navaratnam

Dr Patricia Por


Members of the Board of Directors are as follows:


Dr Leslie Lai (Chairman)

Dr Menaka Hariharan

Professor Dr Yap Sook Fan


EQAP Advisory Committee:


Prof Dr Cheong Soon Keng (Chairman)

Dr Leslie Lai (Chemical Chemistry)

Dr Raudhawati Osman (Hematology)

Prof Dr Yasmin Malik (Serology)

The Expert Group on Digital Morphology (Haematology)

Emeritus Prof Dr Cheong Soon Keng, UTAR (Lead person)

Associate Prof Dr Leong Chooi Fun, PPUKM

Dr Mimi Abdul Aziz, HKL

Dr Eusni Rahayu, UPM

Members of the R&D Panel

Dr Tan Yuen Fen

Dr Aw Kar Men

Ms Teh Hui Xin

Ms Nur Syahida Basri

Ms Norazlina Osman

Mr Eddie Lau (Innovz Sdn Bhd, 3DHISTECH sole distributor)


bottom of page